//
you're reading...
Associations, Escape, Excitement, Feeling, identity, Imagining, Memories, Mood

Christmas mood

20121219_132857

12th December
History lesson – the class had a quiz on Christmas songs. YouTube with no pictures. It brought me back into the mood of Christmas because everything else in the day till then had been very normal. When I listen to Christmas songs I think, “Yay, it’s almost Christmas!” The feelings I have are excitement, happiness, jolliness, joy.

It reminds me of panto because those are the songs they play as preshow music. It feels close to my heart, because as long as I can remember that’s what happens at Christmas and it feels like a very familiar place to be (I have parents in the arts who have to make a living!) … a sense of belonging and friendship. I can wander back stage and everyone knows me. It also makes me feel a little special because my friends are less involved than me so it’s like my own “special thing”. I don’t set out to think of any of this consciously when I hear Christmas songs – the feelings are just triggered when I hear that kind of music, even in a history lesson. These songs make me feel good about myself:

• All I want for Christmas is You (Mariah Carey)
• I Wish it could be Christmas Every Day (Wizzard)
• Do They Know it’s Christmas (Band Aid)
• Have yourself a Merry Little Christmas (Bing Crosby)

Madeleine, aged 12 ¾

20121219_131621

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

